gruhnb.wordpress.com Presents (for a limited time) A Spin Off Blog!

“If nothing we do matters, then all that matters is what we do.” Angel, Season 2, episode 16 of Angel (spinoff of Buffy The Vampire Slayer).

“We just fall apart.” –Dr. Felix Silverstone, as interviewed by Atul Gawande in his book Being Mortal

I’m terrible at self promotion. But there’s something I’m doing that I think is good, and I’d like you to know about it.

It’s the season of Lent, the time of year when Christ’s followers get real liturgical permission to be really obsessed with ourselves. How else would you describe a 6 week period when you are invited (forced?) to dedicate all your time and energy to introspection, personal spiritual practice, and wrestling with the meaning of a life that is simultaneously wondrous, too short, and painfully imperfect?

Well…if you’re me, I guess you’d just call that “A normal month plus a fortnight.”

But it’s my goal to get better at this stuff.

The absurdist playwright Samuel Beckett once wrote, “try again, fail again, try again, fail again, fail better.” And that’s what I’m trying to do. I’m trying to embrace my limitations, admit my failures, and try to fail better than I did last time.  I wrestle with balancing out my passions, my joys, my responsibilities, and my programming on a regular basis.  A lot of the time, it makes it difficult to gauge where to invest my time and energy.  The older I get, the more I discover new limitations and complexities that only make the whole thing more daunting.

photo (28)

??? This was actually the sign I saw when I started writing this post. How can we not laugh?

 

I also laugh a lot more.  That’s how I know I really am getting better at this stuff.

And I do want to fail better…I want my tomorrow to look different than today.  So I am going on a journey to star mortality in the face, to learn more about my eventual death…so that I can receive the promises of Easter Sunday…

I’ve dedicated myself to hosting a daily Lent blog for my congregation (and anyone else who’s interested).  So far I’m actually keeping up with it. And I’m proud of what we’re creating over there.  #LevelUp #EmbraceYourMortality #Followthrough!

If you would like to journey with us, use the following link and hit “Follow” for daily reflections, stories, and practices from now until Easter:

40dayprep.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

