Summer Reading

Oh, come on!  The summer’s not over yet!  Suck it up!  We still have a few weeks of (depending on where you live) incredibly hot weather and (depending on your profession) nothing to do!  Read a book!

I was extremely blessed to come across two books this summer that weren’t just fun, but turned out to be completely fascinating representations of our current world.  Well…that’s how I saw them anyway.  And I want to have an unofficial book club dedicated to these books.  So I encourage you to read them, so that I have someone to talk to about them.

Under the Dome

How complicated are modern times?  At least this much;  This book is the most interesting depiction of 21st Century America I could imagine, going into great depth and detail about many areas of our shared public life, completely captivating and revealing about our culture in so many ways….and it only took about 900 pages for Stephen King to do it.  I don’t even want to give anything away about the book in case you should actually read it, suffice to say that it is the book I would (and probably will) recommend to anyone who wants to know, roughly, what America is like right now.  Except for the very strange slang that is used in the book.  That is either extremely specific to the people of Maine, or just evidence of how Stephen King is a lot more different than the rest of us.

The Passage

If Under the Dome is a metaphor for where we are, then The Passage is more about where we need to go.  And because of the subject matter of this book, I should be clear, I mean this in a spiritual sense rather than a socio-political one.  It has some of the most beautiful and touching imagery I’ve read in quite awhile, and I got pretty emotional throughout it.  Again, can’t even tell you what it’s about, but it’s something I didn’t want to stop reading.  Every page drips with detail and imagery and heart.  Also, it’s the first place within recent pop culture that I’ve encountered a deep, complex reflection on God, theology and eternity that speaks to real human beings about real situations without being hung up on dogma or agenda.  It lets the unexplainable borders of our physical world sound off for themselves, reminding us of all the things we have to learn to take on faith.

If anyone has time/desire to read either/both of these books, I would love to chat about them.  Probably I read too much into them, but even if that’s true, they’re worth a weekend.  If you don’t have anything else to do with your weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

